Supporting the recommendations of the FSB Task Force on Climate-related Financial Disclosures

Climate change is one of the biggest social and economic risks the world faces today. Companies and investors are already being affected by the transition to a low carbon economy and the physical impacts of climate change, the effects of which will only increase over time. 

The FSB Task Force on Climate-related Financial Disclosures (TCFD) recommends a framework for disclosing climate related risks and opportunities, going beyond current practices in two significant ways:

  1. Inclusion in mainstream financial filings; and
  2. Using scenario analysis to inform business strategy.

The TCFD recommendations were published in June 2017 and can be downloaded at

Consistent adoption of the recommendations will lead to effective measurement and improved company resilience; informed decisions by investors; and better evaluation of risks and exposures by lenders, insurers and underwriters.

Successful adoption relies on Chief Financial Officers (CFOs) leading on implementation of the recommendations, accounting bodies guiding their members, and the investment world acting on the disclosures made.

A4S is working with these key groups to share knowledge and help overcome the challenges faced. To this effect, A4S has issued three Statements of Support for the TCFD recommendations signed by:

  • CFOs
  • CEOs of Accounting Bodies
  • Chairs of Pension Funds


Leading the way

The TCFD responds to a growing trend among the investor and regulatory communities to demand improved financial disclosures from companies in relation to climate risks, through a framework with consistent categorization of climate related risks and opportunities. A number of large investors have already stated that they will ask the companies in which they invest to disclose in line with the recommendations, and a number of regulators are indicating that they plan to amend disclosure rules in response. Leading companies are also signalling their support for the recommendations and a commitment to their adoption, such as the Statements of Support by A4S.

How to get involved

Join your peer CFOs, CEOs of Accounting Bodies or Chairs of Pension Funds in signing a Statement of Support for the TCFD recommendations.

Join our TCFD implementation workshops.

Share this TCFD leaflet and short film with your CFO and finance team.

To find out more, email us > 

Who has signed the TCFD Statements of Support? 

CFO signatories

Scott Longhurst, Managing Director, Finance and Non-Regulated Business, Anglian Water

Daniel Sonder, Chief Financial Officer, B3

Lawrence Davis, Senior Vice President, Finance, BcIMC

Lucinda Bell, Chief Financial Officer, British Land

Julie Brown, Chief Operating and Financial Officer, Burberry Group

Patrice Impey, Chief Financial Officer and General Manager of Financial Services, City of Vancouver

Michalis Imellos, Group Chief Financial Officer, Coca-Cola HBC

Frank Friedman, Chief Financial Officer, Deloitte Touche Tohmatsu

Howard Ungerleider, Chief Financial Officer, Dow Dupont

Thomas Kusterer, Chief Financial Officer, EnBW Energie Baden-Württemberg

Alberto De Paoli, Chief Financial Officer, Enel

Steve Leicester, Chief Financial Officer, International Cooperative and Mutual Insurance Federation (ICMIF) 

Charlotte Jones, Chief Financial Officer, Jupiter Asset Management

Diane Jeffreys, Chief Financial Officer, KPMG International

Helen Weir CBE, Chief Finance Officer, M&S

Stephen B. Roder, Senior Executive Vice President and Chief Financial Officer, Manulife Financial Corporation

Linda Huber, Executive Vice President & Chief Financial Officer, Moody's Corporation

Gary Lennon, Group Chief Financial Officer, National Australia Bank

Andrew Bonfield, Chief Financial Officer, National Grid

Eivind Kallevik, Executive Vice President and CFO, Norsk Hydro ASA

N Muthukumar, Group Chief Financial Officer, Olam International

Susan Davy, Chief Financial Officer, Pennon Group

Paul Boomkamp, Chief financial Officer, PGGM N.V.

Nathalie Bernier, Senior Vice President, Strategic and Business Planning & Chief Financial Officer, PSP Investments

Warwick Hunt, UK Executive Board, Chief Operating Officer and Managing Partner International, PwC

Geraldine Matchett, Chief Financial Officer, Royal DSM

Ewout Steenbergen, Executive Vice President, Chief Financial Officer, S&P Global

Karim Hajjar, Chief Financial Officer, Solvay Group

Gregor Alexander, Finance Director, SSE

Lars Aa. Løddesøl, Group Chief Finance Officer, Storebrand ASA

Mark Patrick, Chief Financial Officer, Syngenta International

Koushik Chatterjee, Executive Director & Chief Financial Officer, Tata Steel

Doug French, Executive Vice President and Chief Financial Officer, Telus

Alan Stewart, Chief Financial Officer, Tesco

P. Bruce West, Executive Vice-President, Finance and Chief Financial Officer, The Co-operators Group

Kate Bowyer, Chief Financial Officer, The Crown Estate

Graeme Pitkethly, Chief Financial Officer, Unilever >

Pamela Steer, Chief Financial Officer, WSIB

Liz Barber, Group Director of Finance, Regulation and Markets, Yorkshire Water

Accounting bodies CEO signatories

Mark Farrar B.Sc., FCA, AMCT, Chief Executive Officer, Association of Accounting Technicians (AAT)

Helen Brand OBE, Chief Executive, ACCA (Association of Chartered Certified Accountants)

Barry Melancon, CPA, CGMA, CEO, Association of International Certified Professional Accountants 

Rick Ellis, Chief Executive Officer, Chartered Accountants Australia and New Zealand (CA ANZ)

Francesca Maione, Chief Execuitve Officer, Consiglio Nazionale dei Dottori Commercialisti e degli Esperti Contabili

Adam Awty CPA, Interim Chief Executive Officer, CPA Australia

Joy Thomas, MBA, FCPA, FCMA, C. Dir., President and CEO, Chartered Professional Accountants of Canada (CPA Canada)

Stephen Harrison AO FCA, Chief Executive Officer, Global Accounting Alliance

Professor Dr Klaus-Peter Naumann, Chief Executive, Institut der Wirtschaftsprüfer in Deutschland (IDW Germany)

Michael Izza, BA FCA, Chief Executive, ICAEW

Professor Anton Colella BA (Hons), DipEd, ICAS Chief Executive, ICAS

Tadashi Umino, Chief Executive, Japanese Institute of Certified Public Accountants (JICPA)

Dr Terence Nombembe, CA(SA), Chief Executive Officer, South African Institute of Chartered Accountants (SAICA)

Pension fund chair signatories

Tony Ashford, Chairman, and Charles Nichols, Investment and Funding Chair, Unilever UK Pension Fund

Sally Bridgeland, Chair, Investment Committee, NEST

Sir Merrick Cockell, Chairman, London Pensions Fund Authority

Dermot Courtier, Chairman, Legal & General MasterTrust and Legal & General Independent Governance Committee

Emma Howard Boyd, Chair, Investment Committee, Environment Agency Pension Fund

Denise Le Gal, Chair, Brunel Pension Partnership

Loretta Minghella OBE, First Church Estates Commissioner, Church Commissioners for England

Rory Murphy, Chair of Trustees, Merchant Navy Officers Pension Fund

Michael O’Higgins, Chairman, Local Pensions Partnership

Russell Picot, Chair of the Trustee Board, HSBC Bank (UK) Pension Fund

Cllr. Kieran Quinn, Chair, Greater Manchester Pension Fund

Joanne Segars OBE, Chair, LGPS Central

Sarah Smart, Chair of the Trustee Board, and Mike Balfour, Chair, Investment Committee, TPT Retirement Solutions

Dr. Jonathan Spencer, Chairman, and Alan Fletcher, Chairman, Investment Committee, Church of England Pensions Board